oranje crush

The victory songs here are fantastic…my favorite is the one without words, the tune of which is seriously catchy though I can never remember it. Someone starts it off and pretty soon everyone is roaring drunkenly along, Big 10 student section style. It works best for people like me – i.e., those who can’t quite hack up the Dutch “g”. 😛

“Kampioen” has quite the ring to it as well – champions, champions, champions all the way. 😀

Didn’t realize until arriving here that Heineken was a Dutch beer…

The crowd went certifiably INSANE after each  goal….traditionally, fans fling every drop from their plastic cups as they jump up, down, and around in complete abandon. Lucky me, it rained men and beer.


Here’s the post-win crowd at Rembrandtplein 🙂 I heard there were 60,000 people watching on the Museumplein big screens! I might head over there for the finals…

Olé! Although Casillas really is my favorite footballer of all time, I mean that in the Dutch way,  not the Spanish one. 😛

Published by crosswalkmuse

I’ve never lived a moment I haven’t wanted to capture; I’ve never loved a view, a sky, a face, without wishing for a camera in my hand. Some may call this desire to click every instant into eternity a curse. They may be right – the longing always leads to letdown, for it is never quite possible to translate life, vibrant reality, onto film. I am in search of that perfect image, though, and always will be.

Leave a comment