01
Jun
10

roam

For once, for today only, that’s exactly what I’ve been doing. These last ten days have been crazy, and I promise to go into detail soon – but first I just want to take a little time to let it all sink in. Today, for the first time, I went out without my camera. I didn’t feel that ever more painful ache in my neck and shoulder muscles, didn’t snap crazed shot after shot after shot, didn’t mourn the moments missed or the shadows askew or the flock of tourists marring my perfect angle. I forced myself to let it all go, to bask in the history, the romance, the adventure – to wander, to absorb, to appreciate.

I got on a bus. I got lost on the bus. I got off.

There were the Spanish Steps. Win.

I found my way to the Metro. I had an expired ticket. I shoved a euro grudgingly into the machine for a new one. I was angry.

I walked fast, I got off, I ran into the waning sunlight tinging the crowded street with gold.

The Colosseum gaped back at me.

It cannot get. Any better. Than this.

This is day one as a real Roman resident. I have it all – the tiny box of an elevator, the courtyard of resident clotheslines, the antique-seeming medieval key that fits into an even more rustic, weighty wooden door. The terrace, with its door left open nightly in lieu of A/C. The bus stop, the tram route, the metro lines I’m learning. The school children that sing loudly each morning one street over, a grand old chorus of something that may or may not resemble the pledge of allegiance.

Who cares if my only Italian is “Sorry! I mean…Scusi! Prego? Grazie?”, if I’m carrying my passport under my dress in a money belt, if I clutch my pocket Frommer’s guide tightly under my camera bag? Everyone needs a map, after all.  My roommate drives a Vespa, downs cappuccino after cappuccino, is an actress in musical theater productions that tour the world. For this one golden month, I live here, bitches.

I wish you did too.

(and me)

9 Responses to “roam”


  1. 1 amanda
    June 1, 2010 at 3:59 pm

    i love your writing, bitches. =) i feel like im reading someone who gets paid to write…but you’re so freely roaming with your thoughts, cause youre not being paid…naw what i mean?

  2. 2 Matt
    June 1, 2010 at 6:59 pm

    the Colosseum is gorgeous… and the other one of you is super cute 🙂 but i was expecting more pictures >:(((( i guess the writing kind of makes up for it. be safe. don’t get kidnapped cuz i don’t got no money to pay ransom.

    • June 1, 2010 at 7:04 pm

      There will be more pictures, I promise!!!! I just haven’t had a chance to sort through them all….I literally have over 20 gigs lol….

      if i get kidnapped you have to chase after me a la Liam Neeson though. !!!!!!! ❤

  3. 5 michelle
    June 1, 2010 at 8:22 pm

    goooooooolly i’m jeal.

    i pictured you getting mad at the ticket machine. and i laughed. i wish i could be there, too. i also love that second shot. great, great photo.

  4. June 1, 2010 at 9:06 pm

    I love that you’re writing more and more in these posts! I’m crazy jealous of you and wonder if I’ll ever have a “golden month” like that.

  5. 7 karthiksoora
    June 1, 2010 at 10:58 pm

    ❤ 🙂

  6. June 2, 2010 at 12:32 am

    i love that you relinquished your camera for a bit. someone once told me to its better to live in the moment than to capture it. be free my beautiful Indian bird-girl. be free like you’re meant to be.


Leave a Reply

She Stops Traffic.

Like what you see? Follow me!

bloglovin
bloglovin

Enter your email address to receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

or follow via google, everybody’s best friend! :)

Add to Google

