18
May
10

industrial strength

So this series is a little bit cold and clinical, not really the bluebells and butterflies (okay not butterflies) of the last couple updates….but I sort of enjoyed the departure. I’ve been thinking a bit about photography. I know that I’ve bandied about the phrase “capturing the moment” quite a bit, and honestly, it’s three words I think I’ve really idealized for myself. So yes, rarely a day, or even an hour, goes by in which I’m not struck by the perfect composition of a crumbling sandcastle against the sandbox’s grainy wood, or the improbable, dizzy descent of a maple seed as it spins into a leafy bed of green, green grass. I want to freeze those moments. I want a camera in my hand. But then it’s those moments I want, and I want them because to me, they feel rare. They feel artistic. They’re not reality.

There are the purists who see skill in photography as the ability to approximate actuality as closely as possible – they seek to mirror life with each and every shot. Then there are those who believe that a photographer does more than ‘click’ a beautiful scene into eternity. To them, a talented one adds the intrigue to the moment, can transform the mundane into the magical. He “sees the beauty in every instant” and makes us see it too.

I know I’m not there yet.

I’m not sure if it’s somewhere I want to be.

Right here, right now, I’m at the middle of the road, figuring out what’s best, tweaking the controls on my Nikon D90 and carving out an identity for myself as a photographer. We’ll see where that takes me. 🙂





7 Responses to “industrial strength”


  1. 1 amanda
    May 18, 2010 at 1:49 pm

    i LOVE the one where harini is facing matt and not making eye contact, the way her body line parallels the pile of bricks behind her…its such a striking image and whether you wanted to or not, i think you definitely added intrigue to that moment =) i love the angle/perspective on the last one…i like this new direction…i hope you keep exploring yourself through your lenses…and your writing is crisp and amazing as usual =).

    • May 18, 2010 at 8:28 pm

      amanda i love your commenting ❤

      • May 18, 2010 at 11:27 pm

        ALSO yeah i really liked the clean lines with the addition of harini….offset by the splash of color her dress adds 🙂 I chose the photo in which her dress is whipped about by the wind a bit, though, as I wanted to convey a little bit of the movement of the moment….:)

  2. 4 Matt
    May 18, 2010 at 9:00 pm

    facebook won’t let me get to you 😡 but i really like the rust in the last one. also i really enjoy the color and the texture of the bricks in the first shot. miel, i think you may be seriously onto something, professional, hobby, or otherwise 🙂

  3. May 18, 2010 at 9:10 pm

    i think my favorite has got to be where Matt’s just sitting laughing. its like he’s a cavalier prince who’s just outwitted the guards attempting to bring him back to the stifling castle.

  4. May 18, 2010 at 11:26 pm

    OOH. okay it won’t let me post them this way b.c of the confines of the blog layout, but if you click on the one of matt laughing and the one of matt+harini separately, you can see them enlarged….and i like them MUCH better that way 🙂

  5. 7 amanda
    May 24, 2010 at 9:15 am

    lol at deanne’s story =) and wow…miel its so cool that youre thinking about conveying movement and stillness and things beyond!


Leave a Reply

She Stops Traffic.

Like what you see? Follow me!

bloglovin
bloglovin

Enter your email address to receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

or follow via google, everybody’s best friend! :)

Add to Google

