12
Mar
10

raindrops on roses, whiskers on kittens

A few of my favorite things, Part 1 : )

To break in my new camera (!!!!!!!!!) I thought I’d experiment a bit with the knick-knacks in my bedroom…and no. Not that kind.

When kids in my class were collecting Barbie dolls and football jerseys, I remained true to my cultural heritage – I wanted free. I went for business cards. I like to think I’ve grown up a bit since then – now I’ve branched out to old class notes/homework/rubbish, plastic grocery bags later to be used for rubbish (coincidence?) … and exotic street art. Be proud : ). My dream is to travel the world and collect ornate, authentic pieces to furnish my home with – a day bed here, a silk screen there – a veritable Ten Thousand Villages in my (hypothetical) foyer, and I would be the one to have knocked on every last local artisan’s door.

It’s a dream a little larger, I would say, than life – and my budget – so I started small. : )

I’m working my way into the big leagues,  awaiting the day my real job and real salary and real antique Moroccan apothecary table (!) arrive – but until then, I’m happy with the little treasures I’ve carefully chosen over the years. I like that each piece has a story, that I spotted it in a crowded bazaar or an elegant European alleyway (and no, that is not an oxymoron), felt a rush of excitement at its perfection, weighed the coins in my palm, gauged my desire, walked away, decided I really, really wanted it… I’ve been lucky enough to see a few corners of the world with my family, and I want to cherish those moments. Preferably when they are manifest as beautiful things. : P

This statue came from a street fair in Seville (absolutely one of my favorite cities in the world…without a doubt)…and this is where it all started. It was winter break of 8th grade, I believe – we stopped at the booth by chance and I decided that it was time to start living. I forked over the 15 euros I’d been saving the entire week and thus the collection was born.

It’s union at its utmost, plain and simple.

These dancers in relief I found on a sidewalk in Vienna, just outside this enormous yellow castle that I can’t ever remember the name of, and that no one who’s been to the city ever seems to have heard of (Once I say “yellow”, it’s over. You’ve never seen such skepticism, trust me.)

These paintings might be common there – I’m not sure. But I was absolutely floored by this one; you can see the tautness in every muscle, the strain in the flexed arabesque, the emotion, the perfection with which the two align – and the spotlight all but brings them to life.

And last for today, a recent acqusition…

It’s a little taste of Vegas – where dreams really do come true? : P

3 Responses to “raindrops on roses, whiskers on kittens”


  1. 1 amanda
    March 16, 2010 at 7:41 pm

    wow…your writing and your art are just so…fluid and beautiful. if i came upon this page not knowing you, i wouldnt think you were a bioe. hahaha.

  2. 3 amanda
    March 16, 2010 at 7:42 pm

    and that one where the statue is a little out of focus and the metal relief plaque is in the back…so good…


Leave a Reply

She Stops Traffic.

Like what you see? Follow me!

bloglovin
bloglovin

Enter your email address to receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

or follow via google, everybody’s best friend! :)

Add to Google

