06
Mar
10

french connection

I know Nine has taken a lot of flak since its release – maybe because when a  cast is as incredibly star-studded as this one, people expect the moon, the stars, and everything in between (i.e. …Earth? Maybe that wasn’t quite what I meant.). In any case, though I haven’t seen the movie yet, I can only imagine how strikingly DRAMATIC it must be….the artful lighting, the smoldering passions, the barely restrained fury…

Okay yes, Moulin Rouge and Chicago are the only reference points I have here, but bear with me. Anyway it might just be me being the romantic that I am, but the production photos don’t do much to kick my little flight of fancy in the teeth. Take Marion Cotillard, for instance. She’s absolutely stunning here:

Is it because she’s French?!

She certainly calls to mind a little Audrey Hepburn, who, born in Belgium, definitely has that French savoir-faire, joie de vivre, ménage à trois (I’m just sort of throwing these out there, not QUITE sure what they mean)…Je ne sais quo, n’est-ce pas?

And Melanie Laurent has that subtle Parisian air completely going for her as well…

…not to mention a little hint of BADASS. I don’t think I’ve ever been so stirred by a scene as I was watching her in her “preparation” phase of Inglourious Basterds (At least I didn’t cry. You should have seen me during Bambi. Granted, I was five…)

And she’s pretty damn formidable with a gun. Though that might be a little beside the point.

And now for my pièce de résistance (DID I DO THAT ONE RIGHT?)…

Who has ever been AS ADORABLE as Amelie?!?!?!

Case closed.

Next order of business: Am I just a Rosetta Stone + Air France overhead bin away from this magnificence? Or is there some hors d’oeuvres, coup d’etat, faux pas, femme fatale still to be desired? 😛

All photos from imdb.com.

0 Responses to “french connection”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

She Stops Traffic.

Like what you see? Follow me!

bloglovin
bloglovin

Enter your email address to receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

or follow via google, everybody’s best friend! :)

Add to Google

